Young guns Zarlie Goldsworthy and Tarni Evans continue to be recognised as elite players across the competition with selection in the 2023 AFLW All-Australian squad.  

Their selection comes off the back of starring seasons for the young pair, with Goldsworthy creating history as the GIANTS’ youngest ever club champion on Monday night, while Evans finished inside the top three for a second straight season. 

The recognition follows the duos recent selection in the AFLPA’s 22Under22 extended squad, with a final team, selected through a fan vote, to be announced on November 22.  

Goldsworthy, who is one of the top candidates for this year’s AFLW Rising Star award, endured a breakout season to assert herself as one of the competition’s most exciting players at just 18 years of age. 

In a season in which she dominated the GIANTS’ awards night, the dynamic midfielder created history in round eight by becoming the youngest player to kick five goals in an AFLW game.  

The teenage sensation finished her second season as the GIANTS leading goalkicker, despite spending a large majority of the season as a midfielder, to go along with averages of 18.3 disposals, 6.6 tackles and 2.1 clearances across 10 games. 

In just her second season, this marks Goldsworthy’s first time named in the 42-player All-Australian squad. 

Likewise, the recognition marks the first time that teammate Evans has been included in the All-Australian squad following another stellar season in defence for the GIANTS. 

The dashing 21-year-old defender, known for her raking left boot, led the competition for rebound 50’s (6.4 per game), while averaging 16.3 disposals and 5.7 intercept possessions to go along with 3.9 tackles and 3.3 spoils per game.   

Elevated to the GIANTS’ leadership group ahead of the 2023 season, Evans’ led by example across all 10 games to continue her emergence as one of the competition’s best defenders. 

The final All-Australian team, consisting of 21 players, will be announced at the W Awards on Monday, November 27. 

The team will be chosen by the All-Australian Panel consisting of Nicole Livingstone (Chair), Andrew Dillon, Laura Kane, Jason Bennett, Kelli Underwood, Sarah Black, Katie Loynes, Narelle Smith, and Megan Waters.