The GIANTS’ VFL side will be bolstered by a wealth of talent and experience on Saturday with former AFL skipper Callan Ward headlining five huge inclusions to take on Sandringham.

A 296-game veteran of the AFL, Ward will return to the field through the VFL following a rapid recovery from a shoulder injury sustained in the club’s Opening Round win over Collingwood.

Originally expected to miss 6-8 weeks, the former club champion and inaugural co-captain of the GIANTS progressed through his rehabilitation quicker than expected and after returning to full contact training this week has been deemed fit to return through the VFL on Saturday.

Joining Ward in the clash against the Zebras at Manuka Oval will be fellow AFL-listed GIANTS Braydon Preuss (back), Phoenix Gothard (glandular fever) and Joe Fonti (adductor) after all made successful returns to the field last weekend in the club’s VFL practice match against the Swans.

Ryan Angwin has also been included in the side to take on the Zebras, with the wingman one of 16 AFL-listed GIANTS named for the round three clash.

Nick Haynes will not play VFL this week as he is the travelling emergency for the GIANTS’ AFL side for their clash with the Saints on Saturday.

After a tough 17-point round one loss to the Bulldogs at Whiten Oval a fortnight ago, the GIANTS will be out to claim their first victory of the 2024 Smithy's VFL season with victory over the Zebras in Canberra.

The GIANTS and the Zebras will face off at Manuka Oval at 10:05am on Saturday.


All VFL matches will be live streamed free on and the AFL Live Official App.

Visit: and follow the links. All matches will be available to watch on demand.

VFL Round 3

GIANTS v Sandringham
Saturday, April 13 at 10:05am
Manuka Oval | Ngunnawal Country


FB: Ethan Williams, Leek Aleer, Izaac Hughes
HB: Josh Fahey, Harper Montgomery, Joe Fonti
C: Cooper Hamilton, Callan Ward, Toby McMullin
HF: Ryan Angwin, Max Gruzewski, Darcy Jones,
FF: Nicholas Madden, Ryan Hebron, Wade Derksen
RR: Braydon Preuss, Harry Rowston, Conor Stone

Interchange: Jackson Bowne, Marc Sheather, Nicholas Quigg, Matt Harms, Phoenix Gothard

Ins: Joe Fonti, Callan Ward, Ryan Angwin, Braydon Preuss, Phoenix Gothard

Out: James Creighton, Tom McCaffrey, Charlie McCormack, Josaia Delana, Lachlan Keeffe