Greater Western Sydney GIANTS vice-captain Heath Shaw has capped off a magnificent 2015 season, taking out his first Kevin Sheedy Medal.

In his second season at the GIANTS after crossing from Collingwood, the 213-game veteran was presented with the club's highest individual accolade by inaugural coach and former Director Kevin Sheedy at Rosehill Gardens in Sydney tonight.

The 29-year-old played every game in 2015, polling votes in 19 of the 22 games, to take out the club champion award with 117 votes.

Departing midfielder Adam Treloar finished in second place on 98 votes with co-captain Callan Ward a close third on 91 votes. Star forward Jeremy Cameron (82) and tough midfielder Stephen Coniglio (75) rounded out the top five.

Shaw averaged a career-high 24 disposals and seven rebound 50s per game this season and led the competition for rebound 50s and running bounces.

After a career-best season, the defender could be in line for his first All Australian honour after being named in the 40-man squad earlier this week.

GIANTS Head Coach Leon Cameron congratulated Shaw on his win.

“Heath has had a superb season and this is a well-deserved honour,” Cameron said.

"His influence since arriving at our club has been enormous. He is a leader at this club and sets high standards for his teammates in everything he does.”

Shaw also took out the 2015 Cabcharge Coaches Award and the 2015 Brightside Cover Members and Fans Most Valuable Player.

Earlier Chairman Tony Shepherd told the 350 guests the club had taken another huge step forward in 2015.

“This was a season to expect big things from the GIANTS and we didn’t disappoint with more wins than ever before and we were right in the finals hunt for the majority of the season,” he said.

“This year, we’ve broken our membership record and our home crowds have increased by 17 per cent at Spotless Stadium and StarTrack Oval Canberra.

“We’ve also had a successful year in re-signing a string of young stars that can see what this club is building." 

After departing the club after five years in March, inaugural coach and former Director Kevin Sheedy was presented with his GIANTS Life Membership on stage.

The Kevin Sheedy Medal is voted on by Head Coach Leon Cameron as well as Assistant Coaches Amon Buchanan, Chad Cornes and Luke Power with up to four votes able to be awarded to a player by each coach every round.

2015 Kevin Sheedy Medal Top 10

1. Heath Shaw (117 votes) 
2. Adam Treloar (98)  
3. Callan Ward (91)  
4. Jeremy Cameron (82) 
5. Stephen Coniglio (75) 
6. Devon Smith (73)  
7. Dylan Shiel (72)  
8. Ryan Griffen (64)  
9. Shane Mumford (60)  
10. Toby Greene, Nick Haynes (59)  

Award Winners

2015 Rising Star Award, presented by Hostplus
Cam McCarthy

2015 Lend Lease GIANTS Community Award
Dylan Shiel

2015 PM Capital Academy Player of the Year
Jacob Hopper

2015 GIANTS Standards Defensive Award
Devon Smith

2015 Western Sydney University NEAFL Development Award
Jake Barrett 

2015 Brightside Cover Members and Fans Most Valuable Player
Heath Shaw

2015 Virgin Australia Mark of the Year  
Nick Haynes (Round 6 v Hawthorn)

2015 Goal of the Year
Jeremy Cameron (Round 2 v Melbourne)

2015 Leading Goal Kicker
Jeremy Cameron (63 goals)

2015 Cabcharge Coaches Award
Heath Shaw 

GIANTS Life Membership
Kevin Sheedy

Former winners of the Kevin Sheedy Medal:

2012 – Callan Ward
2013 – Jeremy Cameron
2014 – Shane Mumford