After a season that promised plenty but was full of speed bumps, the GIANTS will head into Sunday’s Brownlow Medal count with no player really in contention to take home the prestigious award.

The experts have Brisbane’s Lachie Neale as the clear favourite to take home Charlie in the event that has been brought forward 24 hours in this most unusual years.

No GIANTS player has ever won the Brownlow in the club’s short history with Stephen Coniglio the top vote getter last year with 17 votes despite a season ending knee injury in round 17.

Coniglio, Lachie Whitfield, Toby Greene, Josh Kelly and Heath Shaw will represent the club at a small function in Sydney while exciting forward Bobby Hill will attend a WA function as a nominee for Mark of the Year.

00:28 Mins
Published on

R16: Has Bobby pulled down Mark of the year?

Bobby Hill launches and plucks a Mark of the Year contender

Published on

Greene is expected to poll well in a number of games where he played a match winning role despite missing four games this year.

Whitfield is considered one of the GIANTS’ most consistent performers and could be up there as the top GIANT in the voting in 2020.

All Australian debutant Nick Haynes was a standout performer this season and is likely to have been recognised by the umpires too.

Despite their lack of experience, first year players Tom Green and Jake Riccardi could poll votes for their performances which saw the duo named as NAB AFL Rising Star nominees.

You can catch all the Brownlow Medal action on 7Mate from 7pm on Sunday night.