GIANTS defender Annalyse Lister has been elected to the AFL Players’ Association Board at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday evening.

Lister was one of four current players to be newly elected, with Neville Jetta (Melbourne Football Club), Tom Jonas (Port Adelaide Football Club) and Darcy Moore (Collingwood Football Club) also joining the panel.

The 30-year-old joins GWS GIANTS veteran Phil Davis on the board, who on Tuesday was re-elected as well as re-appointed to his position of Vice-President of the Association.

AFLPA CEO Paul Marsh welcomed the four players to the Board and thanked the four outgoing Board Members.

“Firstly, I would like to acknowledge the service provided by the outgoing Board members in Rory (Sloane), Easton (Wood), Jamie (Macmillan) and Meg (Downie),” Marsh said.

“They have all in their own way made outstanding contributions to the Board and represented the members with distinction through one of the most challenging times for players in the history of the game. In particular, I want to thank Jamie and Easton for their enduring service to the PA for nine and eight years respectively, in both delegate and Board roles.  

“We’re thrilled to have people of the calibre of Neville, Tom, Darcy and Annalyse elected to the Board. They are all influential leaders within their clubs and respected across the competition. I know they will bring expertise, diversity of thought and energy to the Board, which will tackle some significant challenges over the next 12 months as we continue to guide members through the impact of COVID-19 and commence negotiations on Collective Bargaining Agreements for male and female players.  

“I would also like to congratulate Phil on securing a re-election after an impressive four years on the Board, including two as the Vice-President.”

The AFLPA Board consists of Patrick Dangerfield (President), Phil Davis (Vice President), Leah Kaslar, Annalyse Lister, Neville Jetta, Tom Jonas, Darcy Moore, Ed Curnow, Paul Marsh (AFLPA CEO), past player Chris Heffernan and Andrew Twaits (Independent Chair).


  • Current AFLW player for GWS Giants (2020 – current)
  • Previously Australian Hockey League player for the Victorian Vipers and SA Suns 
  • Physiotherapist and experienced senior manager, currently working as a Business Support Manager for United Physiotherapy Group
  • Completing an MBA at Deakin University