Collingullie's Harry Perryman has moved to within one vote of Isaac Heeney at the top of the leaderboard of the Carey-Bunton Medal.

The new award will be presented to the best New South Wales player in the competition as based on the AFL Coaches votes.

The Medal is named after two of New South Wales' finest products in Wayne Carey and Haydn Bunton Snr.

Perryman had 28-possessions and a team-high 400 metres gained playing across half back against the Hawks on Sunday night.

The votes after round five are in. Vote getters in round five are highlighted below: 

 1 Isaac Heeney (SS) 19

2 Jarrod Witts (GCS) 18 (2 votes GCS v FREM)

2 Harry Perryman (GWS) 18 (5 votes GWS v HAW)

4 Tom Hawkins (GEEL) 9 (9 votes GEEL v GCS)

5 Isaac Smith (HAW) 8

6 Dane Rampe (SS) 6

7 Jacob Townsend (ESS) 4

8 Luke Breust (HAW) 3

8 Jeremy Finlayson (GWS) 3 (3 VOTES GWS v HAW)

10 Jacob Hopper (GWS) 2

10 Todd Marshall (PA) 2

12 Harry Himmelberg (GWS) 1 (1 vote GWS v HAW)