Callum Brown and Nick Haynes headline seven inclusions for the GIANTS’ VFL clash with the Blues in Blacktown on Saturday.

Named for his first VFL game of the year after being omitted from the AFL side, Brown will bolster a GIANTS team looking to make it four straight wins with victory over the Blues on Saturday.

The dynamic Irishman will be joined up forward by the club’s leading VFL goalkicker, Max Gruzewski, who returns after two games at AFL level where he managed to kick two goals on debut against the Swans in the Derby a fortnight ago.

Experienced defender Haynes is another big inclusion for Saturday’s clash, with the 32-year-old overcoming a hamstring injury suffered in the AFL side’s round 14 win over the Power.

Reliable winger Ryan Angwin also returns to the VFL after fulfilling his duties as the AFL side’s travelling emergency for last week’s clash with the Crows in Adelaide.

Meanwhile, GIANTS Academy forward Riley Hamilton has been named for his third VFL game of the season, with Griffith Swans ruck Nathan Richards also returning to the side for his second game in GIANTS colours.

Emerging forward Phoenix Gothard has been managed, with Manly local Kale Gabila coming in as his replacement.

Aaron Cadman, James Peatling and Darcy Jones all exit the GIANTS’ VFL side after earning AFL recalls, as does exciting dashing defender Joe Fonti who has been named to make his AFL debut on Saturday against Carlton following an impressive run of VFL form.

Promising GIANTS Academy ruckman Logan Smith (Allies) and tough midfielder Marc Sheather (knee) also both exit from last week’s side

13 AFL-listed GIANTS will feature against the Blues on Saturday, while VFL skipper Ryan Hebron will play his 50th game for the club.

The GIANTS will face off with the Blues in Blacktown at 1:05pm on Saturday.

All VFL matches will be live streamed free on and the AFL Live Official App.

Visit: and follow the links. All matches will be available to watch on demand.

VFL Round 15

GIANTS v Blues
Saturday, July 6 at 1:05pm
Blacktown International Sportspark | Darug Country 


FB: Adam Kennedy, Ryan Hebron, Wade Derksen
HB: Jacob Wehr, Lachlan Keeffe, Nick Haynes
C: James Leake, Jackson Bowne, Xavier O’Halloran
HF: Nathan Wardius, Callum Brown, Tom McCaffrey
FF: Kale Gabila, Max Gruzewski, Matt Harms
RR: Nathan Richards, Ryan Angwin, Conor Stone

Interchange: Nic Quigg, James Creighton, Billy Galimberti, Riley Hamilton, Harper Montgomer

In: Callum Brown, Nick Haynes, Max Gruzewski, Ryan Angwin, Nathan Richards, Riley Hamilton, Kale Gablia

Out: Aaron Cadman, James Peatling, Darcy Jones, Joe Fonti (AFL), Logan Smith (Allies), Marc Sheather (injured), Phoenix Gothard (managed)