Five GIANTS have been selected in the NSW State of Origin Team of 2020.

The team was put together by the NSW Australian Football History Society and features players from 11 teams across the AFL.

Collingullie’s Harry Perryman (back pocket), Jacob Hopper (centre) from Leeton, Narrandera product Zac Williams (half back), Harry Himmelberg (full forward) from Magoplah_Cookardinia United Eastlakes Goannas and and Culcairn’s Jeremy Finlayson (bench) were included alongside some of the AFL’s biggest names including Tom Hawkins, Taylor Walker, Luke Bruest and Dane Rampe.

It caps off a big week for Perryman who signed a two-year contract extension a few days ago while Finlayson extended his contract to 2023 in recent weeks.

02:29 Mins
Published on

Finlayson Extends for Three

Jeremy Finlayson has signed a contract extenson which will see him in GIANTS colours through to at least the end of 2023.

Published on

GIANTS Assistant coaches Mark McVeigh and Adam Schneider were named to support John Longmire in coaching the side too.

The team of the year was selected by Richard Colless, Gerard Healy, Mike Sheahan, Mark Maclure and Wayne Carey. The full team can below.

The GIANTS had a competition most 14 players from NSW and the ACT on their list this season.

Coleman Medal winner Tom Hawkins, from Finley, was named the inaugural winner of the Carey-Bunton Medal as the best player from New South Wales.

This award was based on votes given throughout the year by the AFL Coaches’ Association.