Main content

Pocket Profile: Alyce Parker

Get to know new GIANT Alyce Parker.

Name: Alyce Parker

Nickname: Alicia, Parks, Parky and pretty much anything else you can take out of ‘Parker’

Tell us about where you grew up
I grew up living on a farm near Holbrook, only an hour north of the Victorian Border. I’ve lived there my whole life with Mum and Dad (Donna and Fraser) and my two older sisters who now live in Wollongong.

Show your support for the GIANTS by becoming an AFL Women's supporter member. Click here to sign up or renew.

How did you get into football and where, and when was your first game?
When I was 12, I played a lot with the boys on the oval at school and my Phys-Ed teacher noticed I could kick quite well, so I was asked if I wanted to play in the boys Paul Kelly Cup side, which I did, playing my first game on the Holbrook Football Oval.

What’s your favourite football memory, tell us about it?
It would have to be the moment I was drafted, I was actually sitting next to Alicia Eva the moment my name was called out so it was very special to have her there, along with my close family.

View this post on Instagram

When I was still the boss 😏 Congrats to this kid, one of the best. Teammates in 2019 👊🏼 #AFLWDraft #BeGIANT

A post shared by Alicia Eva (@ajeva) on


What were you doing on draft day?
Post getting drafted, I had a quick exit from the draft over to Melbourne High School to sit my HSC exam for the next 3 hours only an hour after having my name called out.

Who’s your favourite player to watch?
Ever since I started watching AFL as a young kid, I’ve idolised Brett Deledio from the time he wore the number three at Richmond. He was the first player I really loved watching and is the reason my favourite number has always been three.

You’re on a desert island, what are the three items that you’d take with you?
Watermelon plant, sushi and a boat to get home

What’s your favourite flavour of shapes?
Chicken Crimpy

Vegemite: yes or no and if yes how much do you use?
Yes, but the smallest amount otherwise it’s inedible. If you can’t see the bread, no thanks.

What’s a hidden talent that you have?
I’ve played the piano since I was 7

Do you have any pets?
We have too many to name living on a farm but …. We have 8 dogs, 2 cats, chooks, ducks, alpacas, and 5000 sheep, give or take.

What other sports do you play or enjoy watching?
I played 7 sports at one stage, including AFL, tennis, swimming, basketball, netball, cricket and athletics. I love going to the Australian Open, but nothing beats Friday Night Footy at the ‘G.

POCKET PROFILE: Get to know new GIANT Britt Perry

Describe your perfect holiday?
With the family up in a holiday house at Pacific Palms near Forster, Northern NSW coast. Our family goes here every year and has been since my mum was younger than me.
Although, would love to travel to the States and have a stopover at Hawaii someday.

Favourite TV show?
McLeod’s Daughters is my all time favourite, but I also like Chuck.

What song can you not help but sing when it comes on the radio?
Regular Touch – Vera Blue

What is your most over-used hashtag?

What’s your pet peeve?
People chewing loudly and metal scraping on metal is quite difficult for me to handle.